top of page


6th April 2023

The Palaszczuk Government will provide additional funding to local councils across Queensland in the latest round of its Illegal Dumping Grants.

As part of an extension to the program, Rob Skelton MP said Sunshine Coast Council will receive an additional $90,000 to continue the employment of an Illegal Dumping Compliance Officer for a further 12 months.

The additional funding brings the total amount of money provided through the government’s Illegal Dumping Partnership Program to almost $9 million since 2020 to help employ compliance officers, purchase equipment, and install signage.

Since the program was launched, participating councils have:

• received over 15,000 illegal dumping reports
• removed 28 million litres of waste from the environment, and
• issued 1177 fines to illegal dumping offenders, totalling $1.7 million

“Illegal dumping isn’t just an eyesore, it’s harmful to our environment and costs council – and in turn ratepayers - a fair chunk of money to clean up,” Mr Skelton said.

“Locals have made it clear this kind of activity is unacceptable, which is why I’m proud that our government is helping provide critical funding.

“But importantly, we want to encourage Queenslanders to recycle, which is why we’re investing $1.1 billion to drive resource recovery and sustainability across the state.

“That funding will help councils ramp up their recycling capabilities as well as support the industry investment and behaviour change across Queensland.”

The 25 local councils that will each receive $90,000 to continue the employment of an Illegal Dumping Compliance Officer are:

1. Mareeba Shire Council
2. Cherbourg Aboriginal Shire Council
3. Western Downs Regional Council
4. Burdekin Shire Council
5. North Burnett Regional Council
6. Cairns Regional Council
7. Brisbane City Council
8. Balonne Shire Council
9. Bundaberg Regional Council
10. Lockyer Valley Regional Council
11. Carpentaria Shire Council
12. Hinchinbrook Shire Council
13. South Burnett Regional Council
14. Rockhampton Regional Council
15. Mackay Regional Council
16. Douglas Shire Council
17. Ipswich City Council
18. Gladstone Regional Council
19. Townsville City Council
20. Logan City Council
21. Sunshine Coast Regional Council
22. Gold Coast City Council
23. Fraser Coast Regional Council
24. Moreton Bay Regional Council
25. Cassowary Coast Regional Council

bottom of page